Montessori Training

Becoming a Montessori Educator

Montessori programmes cater for children from birth to eighteen years of age and may be delivered in Montessori early childhood or school settings.  In most cases, educators will have qualifications for working with children (early childhood 3-6 years of age, primary 6-12 years of age, or secondary 12-18 years of age) as well as specialised Montessori training. 

Watch a video: Why become a Montessori teacher? 

Online Learning

For those who would like flexible, online learning or want to know more about Montessori, the Montessori Professional Learning Series offeres online professional learning packages that promote best practice in Montessori education. Utilising a flexible online platform, packages allow users to customise their learning experience to suit their individual needs. Content is both engaging and informative and delivered through high quality audio-visual resources, interactive learning activities and thought-provoking discussions.

The MPLS is suitable for educators, assistant staff, administrators, Board/Committee members, parents and anyone wishing to know more about Montessori principles and practice.  

Sign up now or read more about the Early Childhood Education and Care Montessori Professional Learning Series (ECEC).

On its own the MPLS is not intended to be an official teacher training course and is not Australian ACECQA registered.

Montessori Qualifications

The most highly regarded Montessori training is the Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) Montessori Diploma, which is internationally recognised for its high standard and authenticity.  AMI was founded in 1929 by Dr Maria Montessori, and is a global community that continues today to protect the integrity of her work and accredits training centres throughout the world.  The Sydney Montessori Training Centre is the only Montessori training centre in the country authorised to deliver AMI training at present.  

Visit our Training Centre page for details on the Montessori training centres in Australia including:

Early Childhood Educator Qualifications

The National Quality Framework (NQF) sets out minimum qualification requirements for educators working in early childhood education and care services.  The NQF is administered through the Australian Children’s Education & Care Quality Authority (ACECQA).  The ACECQA website provides information on the approved early childhood qualifications and for assessment of existing and overseas qualifications.  

There are three main levels of educators, which apply to centre-based and family day care services from birth to preschool age:

  • Certificate III Level Educator
  • Diploma Level Educator
  • Early Childhood Teacher (ECT)

Refer to the ACECQA Qualifications List on their website for details on what Montessori courses are approved. 

Overseas Qualification Holders

Holders of overseas early childhood or Montessori qualifications may not be approved to work in early childhood in Australia. Your qualifications must be assessed individually by ACECQA as no overseas Montessori qualifications are accredited in Australia.  Please refer to the ACECQA website for details.  Unfortunately, most overseas Montessori qualifications will not be recognised by ACECQA, so you may need to undertake Australian early childhood qualifications.  

Primary and Secondary Educator Qualifications 

Montessori educators teaching primary aged children should have relevant Montessori primary training, as well as a teaching degree and teacher registration in the state/territory that they intend to teach.  Each state/territory in Australia has a regulatory body, which mandates these teaching qualifications.  In general, the qualification will be a four year tertiary study such as a Bachelor of Education (Montessori training qualifications are not assessed as part of their teaching qualfications).  Please refer to the links below for teacher qualifications and registration details.

New South Wales

Northern Territory 


South Australia

Australian Capital Territory


Western Australia

Due to the small number of Montessori adolescent programmes in Australia, there are currently no training programmes for this age level in the country.  The Association Montessori Internationale (AMI), the North American Montessori Teachers' Association (NAMTA)  and Great Work Inc. have launched the Montessori Adolescent Initiative website which has details on the new AMI 12-18 Diploma Course.

Job Openings

A listing of Montessori job opportunities is found on our website here.