Teaching In Australia

Becoming a Montessori Educator

Montessori programmes cater for children from birth to eighteen years of age and may be delivered in Montessori early childhood or school settings.  In most cases, educators will have qualifications for working with children (early childhood 3-6 years of age, primary 6-12 years of age, or secondary 12-18 years of age) as well as specialised Montessori training. 

Montessori Qualifications

The most highly regarded Montessori training is the Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) Montessori Diploma, which is internationally recognised for its high standard and authenticity.  AMI was founded in 1929 by Dr Maria Montessori, and is a global community that continues today to protect the integrity of her work and accredits training centres throughout the world.  The Australian Centre for Montessori Studies (ACMS) is the only training centre in Australia authorised to deliver AMI training.  Click here to visit their website. 

ACMS offers two levels of Montessori courses:

  • AMI Montessori Certificate for Montessori Assistants
  • AMI Montessori Diploma for Montessori Educators 

Separate courses are available based on the age range of the children:

  • Assistants to Infancy (0-3 age)
  • Early Childhood (3-6 age)
  • Primary (6-12 age)

The other Australian Montessori training centre is the Montessori Institute (formerly Montessori World Education Institute MWEI).  The Montessori Institute is accredited with TEQSA as a Non-University Provider of Higher Education and has a long history of providing quality, well recognised, Montessori qualifications nationally.  Click here to visit their website.

In Australia, the government mandates the qualifications for educators, including all Montessori settings.

Early Childhood Educator Qualifications

The National Quality Framework (NQF) sets out minimum qualification requirements for educators working in early childhood education and care services.  The NQF is administered through the Australian Children’s Education & Care Quality Authority (ACECQA).  The ACECQA website provides information on the approved qualifications and for assessment of existing and overseas qualifications.  

There are three main levels of educators, which apply to centre-based and family day care services from birth to preschool age:

  • Certificate III Level Educator
  • Diploma Level Educator
  • Early Childhood Teacher (ECT)

Both Montessori training centres in the Australia have approved courses endorsed by ACECQA (refer to the ACECQA Qualifications List on their website for details).  

Overseas Qualification Holders

Holders of an AMI 3-6 Diploma from other AMI international training centres are not automatically approved by ACECQA.  They will need to be part of credit transfer process  and additional early childhood qualifications in order for them to take advantage of ACECQA recognition.  Please contact [email protected] for further details as this process is currently under development.

All other Montessori qualifications must be assessed individually and additional early childhood qualifications will be required to work in Montessori early childhood settings.  Please refere to the ACECQA website for details.

Primary and Secondary Educator Qualifications 

For educators working with school-aged children, each state/territory in Australia has a regulatory body, which mandates these teaching qualifications.  In general, the qualification will be a four year tertiary study such as a Bachelor of Education.  Please refer to the links below for details.

New South Wales

Northern Territory 


South Australia

Australian Capital Territory


Western Australia

Job Opportunity

A listing of Montessori job opportunities is found on our website here